In Need of a Third-Offense DWI Defense Lawyer?

At the Russell Law Firm, LLC, our Baton Rouge DWI defense lawyers know that a third offense DWI conviction in Louisiana is life-changing. A third-time DWI conviction is a felony offense, which comes with significant legal penalties and life-long consequences that extend beyond the criminal justice system.

Felony convictions can create significant barriers to employment, challenges in securing housing, and affect an individual’s ability to obtain or maintain professional licenses, to name a few.

If you have been arrested for a third DWI offense in ten years, contact our East Baton Rouge Parish DWI defense attorneys today to learn more about your legal rights and options to minimize the consequences so that you can regain control of your life.

Third Offense DWI Law in Louisiana

What is a Third Offense DWI in Louisiana?

A driver with a BAC of .08% or higher is considered intoxicated and can be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). However, drivers can still be arrested for DWI even if their BAC is below .08% if they are unable to operate a vehicle due to alcohol or drug use safely.

A third offense occurs when a driver is arrested for DWI within ten years of the first and second DWI offenses, whether they were convicted of the previous offenses or not.

What are the Statutory Penalties for a Third Offense DWI in Louisiana?

A third DWI arrest in Louisiana is a felony offense.

The penalties for a third DWI can include:

  • $2,000 in fines.
  • A prison term of one to five years; at least one year mandatoryjail time , with a few exceptions.
  • Up to five years of probation that may include community service.
  • Up to 240 hours of community service.
  • Evaluation of your substance abuse level.
  • Completion of four weeks of substance abuse treatment as an inpatient.
  • Completion of up to 12 months of substance abuse treatment on an outpatient basis.
  • House arrest while under probation for up to six months that can involve tracking devices, curfews, or electronic monitoring at your expense.
  • State seizure of your vehicle.
  • Install and maintain an ignition interlock device at your expense.

In addition, a third-offense DWI conviction in Louisiana can result in a driver’s license suspension of up to four years. However, the driver may be eligible for reinstatement after installing an ignition interlock device (IID).

If your offense included driving with a child under the age of 13, you may also be charged with child endangerment and may not be given probation as an option. Anyone whose DWI caused injuries or the death of another will face increased penalties.

What are My Legal Options After a Third Offense of DWI in Louisiana?

Depending on the specifics of your case, our DWI defense attorneys in Louisiana may develop and present legal defenses tailored to challenge the prosecution’s case. This could involve questioning the reliability of the testing methods, challenging the traffic stop’s legality, or disputing other aspects of the evidence.

Because of the significant penalties associated with a third-time DWI arrest, our attorney may negotiate with the prosecutors to potentially reduce charges or secure a more favorable plea agreement, including a lesser sentence or exploring alternative sentencing options.

Our Attorneys Also Focus on the Following Areas:

Contact Our Baton Rouge DWI Defense Attorneys Today

If you have been arrested for a third-time DWI in Louisiana, contact our dedicated Baton Rouge DWI defense attorneys today at 225-307-0088 or online to get the legal support you need to produce real results for your unique case.

The Russell Law Firm is in Your Corner, and We Fight to Win.

Information furnished herein is only general and not a substitute for personalized legal advice. Any discussions and photographs herein depict no actual event or scene but merely a dramatization.

Contact Us

free consultation

Contact Us Now For A FREE Consultation. Available 24 hours a Day!

Fields marked with an * are required