In Need of a Second Offense DWI Defense Attorney?

At the Russell Law Firm, LLC, our Baton Rouge DWI defense attorneys know that getting arrested for a second DWI in Louisiana is a terrifying experience. If convicted, the legal penalties can be overwhelming and impact every aspect of your personal and professional life for years to come.

The important thing is not to panic. You have legal rights and options to fight these charges and minimize the consequences. Our East Baton Rouge Parish second offense DWI lawyers can help.

Second Offense DWI Law in Louisiana

What is a Second Offense DWI in Louisiana?

A driver with a BAC of .08% or higher is considered intoxicated and can be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). However, drivers can still be arrested for DWI even if their BAC is below .08% if they are unable to operate a vehicle due to alcohol or drug use safely.

A second DWI is considered a misdemeanor in Louisiana, much like a first offense. However, the penalties are slightly more severe.

What are the Statutory Penalties for a Second Offense DWI in Louisiana?

A second-offense DWI means you have been arrested or convicted of a previous DWI charge within ten years of your first offense.

The statutory penalties for a second offense of DWI in Louisiana include:

  • Jail time: The jail term for a second offense will be between 30 days and six months, and48 hours of the jail time you are sentenced to may no be suspendedunless certain conditions are met.
  • Fines: The fine for a second offense will be between $750 and $1,000 plus all the associated court costs.
  • Your driver’s license will be suspended for up to two years, though you can usually apply for a hardship license to drive to school or work after 30 days.
  • Mandatory substance abuse evaluation, which may require participation in a treatment program.
  • Participation in a driver improvement class approved by the court.
  • Up to 240 hours of community service.
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).

If the BAC is over 0.15 but less than 0.2, the following additional penalties take effect:

  • 96 hours of the jail sentence must be served, with a few exceptions.
  • $1,000 fine
  • Driver’s license is suspended for four years.
  • An ignition interlock device must be installed for at least three of the four-year license suspension if the driver is allowed to drive.

Our Attorneys Also Focus on the Following Areas:

What are My Legal Options After a Second Offense of DWI in Louisiana?

The specific circumstances of your case will influence the legal options available to you.

However, our second-offense DWI defense lawyers in Louisiana will outline your complete legal rights and options so you can make informed decisions about your case and future. Contact our dedicated Baton Rouge attorneys today at 225-307-0088 or online for the legal support you need to produce real results for your unique case.

The Russell Law Firm is in Your Corner, and We Fight to Win.

Information furnished herein is only general and not a substitute for personalized legal advice. Any discussions and photographs herein depict no actual event or scene but merely a dramatization.

Contact Us

free consultation

Contact Us Now For A FREE Consultation. Available 24 hours a Day!

Fields marked with an * are required