DWI Attorney in Baton Rouge
If you need a DWI attorney in Baton Rouge, the Russell Law Firm is here to help. Our law firm can represent you in both civil and criminal court proceedings. We provide legal counsel that puts our clients’ needs first and ensure that your rights are upheld at every turn.
Here are some of the most frequently asked questions regarding a DWI in Louisiana. It’s important to remember that this is just general information and the best option when it comes to your specific situation or needs is to schedule a consultation with us to discuss your case.
DWI in Louisiana FAQs
What Is the Penalty for a DWI in Louisiana?
Several factors can impact the severity of sentencing for a DWI in Louisiana. A first offense that didn’t endanger a child or result in a death may be punished by fines upwards of several hundred dollars.
However, the maximum penalty—usually reserved for cases involving vehicular homicide or repeat offenses—can result in a sentence of up to 30 years in prison.
Can I Lose My License if I’m Charged with a DWI?
Yes. If you refuse a chemical test in Louisiana your license will be suspended for one year on a first offense, and two years upon subsequent charges.
You may be able to petition for a temporary 30-day license under certain circumstances.
Are There Other Penalties for A DWI Conviction in Louisiana?
If you have been convicted of a DWI charge, you may find it hard to find employment, successfully apply for lines of credit, and more.
Additionally, you will be required to carry SR-22 car insurance to continue to drive after a conviction. This insurance is typically expensive, and it may be hard to find coverage. After the period defined in your sentencing, you may be able to return to a normal insurance policy.
Is It Possible to Beat a DWI Charge?
If it can be determined that the police officers involved in your case incorrectly conducted their investigation, it may be possible to overturn or lessen the sentencing of a DWI charge.
For example, a breathalyzer that has been improperly calibrated may report a false reading. This could serve as a viable basis for reducing your sentence or dropping charges. The job of a Baton Rouge DWI lawyer at the Russell Law Firm is to investigate and question all aspects of a case.
If I Have Been Convicted of a DWI Offense, Can I Have My Record Expunged?
It may be possible to remove a DWI conviction from your record after meeting the correct criteria. Expungement is not an automatic process, however, and you will have to hire an attorney to work through the process.
If you do not expunge a DWI offense from your record, it will remain indefinitely.
Contact the Russell Law Firm
For more information regarding DWI charges in Louisiana, we encourage you to call us at the number below or by visiting the contact page for more options.
By: Danny Russell, Esq.
Information furnished herein is only general and not a substitute for personalized legal advice. ****The photograph above is not a depiction of any actual event or scene, but merely a dramatization.